One Book…

Hey Simon, look at you with your successful meme! πŸ™‚ Thanks for doing this one again. I agree with you that is was great last time around (Simon’s post; my post) and I can’t resist playing along, again.

Simon from Stuck in a Book has posted another round of One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four… and Five, in which he lists his current reading, with pictures. Go check him out. And, here’s mine:

The book I’m currently reading is Louise Erdrich’s Love Medicine. This was a recommendation from my aunt Laura several years ago. I bet she thought I forgot, but I didn’t! It’s been on my shelf and I have finally picked it up, prompted by the Where Are You Reading? Challenge. It’s set in North Dakota, and it’s about an extended family of Native Americans. I’m enjoying it.

And, on audio, I’m currently “reading” Margaret Atwood’s The Year of the Flood. It’s fairly thought-provoking. I’m glad to be revisiting Atwood; she’s so talented and always makes me think. This one is a bit creepy but oh so delightful, too. It’s speculative fiction set in some unknown future, after the “waterless flood” which has wiped most of the population off the earth, it seems, combined with flashbacks into a dystopic world ruled by corporations.

The last book I finished was The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon, and it was so beautiful. (My review should be up next week.) I highly recommend it.

The next book I want to read is definitely We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson. I’ve been hearing about this one for so long! And I finally got my hands on a copy! I don’t usually participate in the reading of spooky books for Halloween, but just by coincidence, I have this one packed in my bag for our weekend trip. (I’m very excited: we’re off to a 6-hour mountain bike race near Dallas, leaving tonight!)

And along the same lines, I’ve picked out a few audiobooks for the drive, including James Lee Burke’s Bitterroot (love Burke, haven’t read this one yet), Grisham’s The Appeal (why not, Grisham is solid if predictable), and Ken Follett’s Hornet Flight (have never read him, this will be a first try) but – back to the spooky theme – also including Stephen King’s Stationary Bike. There is a joke in there somewhere about the bike being the evil force in this story, and us driving towards a bike race. πŸ™‚ This will be only my second Stephen King experience, the first being From a Buick 8, in which the car was the bad guy. Is this a coincidence? Or is Stephen King all about transportation-as-evil?

The last book I bought was, oh heck, I don’t buy books very often (working in a library is the best!). I think the last books I purchased were the four memoirs relating to Hemingway that I mentioned here. They were: Papa: A Personal Memoir by his son Gregory (Gigi), With Hemingway by Arnold Samuelson (“the Maestro”), Papa Hemingway by longtime friend A.E. Hotchner, and Running with the Bulls: My Years with the Hemingways by Valerie Hemingway, Gregory’s ex-wife (who was originally a secretary or assistant to Papa).

The last book I was given would also be a list of several, and as usual came from my good buddy Fil. (Fil, you’re a doll. They’re still on the shelf.) I’ll Gather My Geese by Hallie Crawford Stillwell is a memoir of a young woman in the early 1900’s who left home to travel west, into deep west Texas desert of Big Bend country, and had all kinds of adventures. Fil knows and shares my interest in and love of this area, which I’ve mentioned before.

He also brought my The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros (I should have read this already! but I haven’t) and The Road to Wellville by T.C. Boyle. And, he brought the Husband Spokesongs: Bicycle Adventures on Three Continents by Willie Weir, about bicycle touring. We’re interested in doing some touring – particularly, in Husband’s case, off-road touring, and self-supported. So far my experience is mostly supported, or just 2-3 days self-supported, but in fact next weekend we’ll be riding out to camp at a state park near the coast, so there you go. πŸ™‚

Thanks, Fil! And thanks, Simon, for putting this together again!

EDIT: And oh heck, I just remembered, I have been gifted a book since those (but I’m leaving them up for your perusal!): my parents came home from France with some delicious delectable macaroons for us, and a copy of Hemingway on Paris for me. Yum, and yum. πŸ™‚ Thanks, parents!

7 Responses

  1. Lovely lovely!
    So pleased you’ll be reading the Shirley Jackson – I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of it.

    And fun edit, too! I did have to go back a bit to find my latest gift. (And have bought five books since posting the meme yesterday!!)

    • Wow, you are a good book buyer!! I’m glad the book industry has people like you; I believe in buying books of course, but I just can’t bring myself to spend money when I have such excellent access to free books at work… on the other hand, part of my job is to spend a substantial monthly budget on books, so perhaps that helps with my industry karma!

      Yes, I’m psyched about Shirley Jackson. You’ll hear my thoughts soon!

  2. Did you read Oryx & Crake? Not to interfere with your reading, but I’d recommend it before The Year of the Flood. They do not depend on each other and you can read Flood without reading the first one, but the events in Flood follow the events in Oryx & Crake and it refers to characters and events in the first novel.

    • Ha, yes and no – I did read it, but it’s been years and my memory is extremely fuzzy! Maybe I’ll find some cliffnotes somewhere to help me out. And your input is always welcome. πŸ™‚

  3. Nice to see you joining in. Not seen some of these books before, so thanks for the pointers.

  4. So many great books… I may have to join in and do this one again, too! Love Medicine will be my next Erdrich novel. I’ve enjoyed several of her short stories and Shadow Tag. We Have Always Lived in the Castle is a great Halloween read. I finished it last Halloween during a power outage – quite spooky!

    • Hi JoAnn, I finally found you in my spam folder! I wonder what on earth bothered wordpress? Anyway. Thanks for stopping by! I still haven’t made it to We Have Always Lived in the Castle, and I’m so looking forward to it; I do love Love Medicine but I’m not finding it quick.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.