Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead by Barbara Comyns

Thank you so much to Simon from Stuck in a Book for this recommendation. Your future recommendations will be heeded!

Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead is an odd book, a short book, a unique book, and a very enjoyable way to spend an hour or two of your time. The setting is Warwickshire, “about seventy years ago” – published in 1954, so call it the 1880’s. We are mostly concerned with the Willoweed family. The grandmother is rather hateful and gluttonous and deaf; her son, Ebin, is cowed and unsympathetic as well. He has three children who are not in school, but who drift through the Willoweed estate trying to avoid unpleasantness. The town at large plays a role, as well as the Willoweeds’ domestic servants.

The book opens with a flood that disrupts normal life – “the maids pinned their skirts up high and splashed about in the water trying to prepare breakfast.” There are deaths, and then there are more deaths, and then it becomes clear that a plague of sorts has descended upon this sleepy town, which gives Grandmother Willoweed great pleasure. These deaths are treated less as tragedies than as facts of life, no more or less important than the deaths of the hens in the flood at the beginning of the book.

I haven’t given you much of a plot synopsis here, but that’s because the plot isn’t really the point. Things happen to the various characters, rather than them initiating action. But the unique thing about Comyns’ writing is that this book is not necessarily about Things Happening To People, as is usually the case in books. Rather, every event, large and small, and every observation, is treated with equal weight. The descriptions are brief and striking and evocative. The tone is really something different and special; I appreciate this writer’s ability to bring real interest and consideration to items and events that are mundane, or in other cases, horrifying, but in a democratic fashion.

An odd but fascinating book, short and easy to read: I started it in the airport in San Diego and was finished less than halfway into the flight home to Houston. I recommend it, and will be seeking more Comyns. Thanks Simon!

5 Responses

  1. Great review, Julia! I love what you say about everything being given equal weight – that IS exactly what gives the tone its feel. I couldn’t work out exactly what it was, so I’m very grateful to you for summing it up so well!

    From Comyns’ other work, my second favourite is The Vet’s Daughter, though The Skin Chairs is also really great. As is Sisters By A River. Although I enjoyed Our Spoons Came From Woolworths, The House of Dolls, and The Juniper Tree, they’re not *as* good. And I still have two I haven’t read!

  2. Lovely, my list is ever-expanding. 🙂 At any rate, your recommendations now carry even more weight! Thanks!

  3. Barbara Comyns is a name I’ve heard frequently, but I haven’t read her yet. This one certainly sounds intriguing!

  4. […] from another Barbara I recently discovered, through Stuck in a Book: Barbara Comyns, whose Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead I really enjoyed. Simon, Thomas, anyone, if you can help me come up with a better genre tag for […]

  5. […] Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead, Barbara Comyns. Fiction. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.