One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four… and Five… (a borrowed post)

Well this is a little fun, extra post for you today. I felt flattered by the comment in Simon’s post, over at Stuck in a Book, that he hopes his readers will copy his post format, and I have decided to take him up on it. 🙂 I like reading about what other people are getting their paws on.

1.) The book I’m currently reading:

There are two.


I’m listening to The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler on audio when I drive in the car.

And I’m reading The Stronger Sex by Hans Werner Kettenbach.

2.) The last book I finished:


The Red House Mystery by A.A. Milne, and it was delightful! (My post will be up in a few days.)

3.) The next book I want to read:


I cheated today when I quoted this book beginning; I haven’t started it yet, but expect to get to it this weekend. There are so many in my stack…

4.) The last book I bought:


I don’t really buy a lot of books, what with working in the library and everything. This purchase is a couple months old already now, sorry, I’m boring on this question.

5.) The last book I was given:

This is a good fun one! The Husband and I went out a few weeks ago with an old friend, Fil, who brought us presents!

and

Fil and I are friends on and off our bicycles. He’s done quite a bit of cycle-touring, and I haven’t done much but do aspire to. We’ve also spent a lot of time talking about Mexico, and he used to help me practice my Spanish back when I had some. 😦 The Yucatan is a beautiful place of which the Husband and I have fond memories, including the day he proposed, and our first anniversary. So these books are a highly appropriate comment on my friendship with Fil. Thanks Fil!

10 Responses

  1. Thanks for playing, Julia! I love AA Milne, so I look forward to your post on Red House Mystery…

  2. It was my first non-Pooh experience, and now there shall be more. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  3. I am intrigued by the Red House Mystery as well.

    Will be back to visit. I have joined in with Simon and played along on my blog.

  4. Hi Julia! I saw your entry on Simon’s blog and thought I’d visit. I’ve been meaning to read Milne’s mystery for a little while now and I think your description of it being “delightful” has provided the push I needed. I’ll try to get a copy soon 🙂
    I enjoyed reading through your very interesting list!

  5. Thanks all of you! I’ll be sure to post at Simon’s home when The Red House goes up!

  6. What a wonderful variety of books. I loved The Red House mystery too, and the editions of Sharon Penman’s books I can see in your stack look particularly lovely.

  7. Great list!! I am very inspired and will check out some the books you mention 🙂

  8. I’ve wanted to read A.A. Milne’s The Red House Mystery for quite some time. Thanks for reminding me! And, Happy Birthday soon. 🙂

  9. What a gorgeous pile of books.

  10. […] for doing this one again. I agree with you that is was great last time around (Simon’s post; my post) and I can’t resist playing along, […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.