How to Start a New Year!

I’m very excited today to be beginning 2011 with a reading challenge: Where Are You Reading? is hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey. (See my original post, if you like, here.) It involves reading a book set in each of the 50 United States, with bonus points for books set in other countries, too. Nonfiction or fiction count the same, and the definition of setting is up to me, with an honor-system understanding. I have all of 2011 to complete the reading of 50+ books. I don’t expect this to be too terribly hard but I’m not sure I’ve kept track of books read before, so it will be interesting to see. I don’t plan to pick and choose books by location, at least not at first; but we shall see in 9-10 months how poorly I’m doing! I’m sure I’ll be cherrypicking a few locations by the end of the year.

I will be keeping track of the books I read and “where” I’m reading at this map:


So! We start today with… the continuation of Frederica. The more I read, the more I enjoy! I would never in 2011 years have believed I would enjoy a romance this much. But really, Heyer’s writing style and sense of humor remind me rather much of Austen, and there are worse things! I love the dialogue. Thanks so much Amy for encouraging this!

I’m going to be MIA all day tomorrow, but look for me on Monday with Plans for the New Year. 🙂 Have a great start!

2 Responses

  1. SO glad to have to have you on the challenge!!! I was just thinking that we may have to peek at other participants maps to see what they picked up to read for states we are missing. I love that! Happy New year!

  2. I’m so psyched! Tell me – can I count a book that I started in 2010 and finish in 2011? Thanks for putting together this fun challenge. It makes me extra excited about reading in the new year. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.